Edo: Obaseki wins as APC, Ize-Iyamu cry foul

…Buhari, Atiku, Bode George, governors, others hail Obaseki

…It was a contest between Edo people and Oshiomhole — Owie

…Poll massively rigged, we’ll decide on next step —APC

…I’m studying situation, ‘ll meet with my party for action, says Ize-Iyamu

By Clifford Ndujihe, Henry Umoru, Gabriel Enogholease, Festus Ahon, Ozioruva Aliu, Johnbosco Agbakwuru,  Dirisu Yakubu, Chris Ochayi, Peter Okutu, Ike Uchechukwu, Tordue Salem,  Bashir Bello & Olayinka Ajayi

BENIN CITY – At exactly 2.45 pm yesterday, Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party,  PDP, was returned as winner of the Edo State governorship election, ending three months of rigorous, testy and acrimonious campaigns that heated up the polity.
Declaring the final results yesterday at the Benin office of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, State Returning Officer, Professor Akpofure Rim-Rukeh who is the Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Petroleum, Efurun, said Obaseki met the requirements to be so declared, having polled 307,955 votes to beat his main rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who scored 223,619 votes.
Obaseki won in 13 of the 18 local councils, leaving five for Ize-Iyamu.
The governor won the seven local councils in Edo South Senatorial District, five in Edo Central and one out of the six in Edo North.
Conversely,  Ize-Iyamu won five of the six local councils in Edo North. Curiously, Ize-Iyamu lost in his Orhionmwon Local Government area. In essence, Obaseki won Edo South and Edo Central while Ize-Iyamu won Edo North.

Post a Comment